Officially Forty

There is no more “almost” or “going to be”.

I am now officially FORTY years old.

Oh my god, it sounds old, just typing it out.

However, for as much as I was dreading the BIG 4-0, I ended up having a wonderful birthday.

I woke up early to curl my hair, put on my age-defying face cream and got ready to put on my sparkly pink tiara that I bought.

And then the text came through from the 29 year old.

He was actually just pulling up to my house!  Imagine my surprise.  It was 6:21 in the morning.  And he was at my house.

I hadn’t seen him in over five weeks.  I was happy.  I was shocked.  He walked in my front door and I could barely contain my joy.  Pure, unadulterated excitement.

He came in, hugged me and kissed me and then laid down on my bed.  We snuggled a little, tickled a little, kissed a little more and then had some birthday sex.  It was a nice way to start my birthday.  Actually, it was a nice way to start any morning.

There are a couple red flags for me,  but since this is a happy post about my birthday, I’ll save those for another day.  Today, they just don’t matter.

After he left, I finished getting ready and then headed off for coffee.  The crew at Starbucks gave me my drink for free.  I’m thinking the sparkly pink tiara may have had some influence on that.

Sex and free coffee?  It was already a better day than normal!

When I got to work, I decided that I would send tweets to my three favorites, to let them know it was my birthday, to see if any of them cared enough to tweet me back. Chipper Jones, Chris Webber and Luke Bryan.  Immature?  Maybe.  Do I care?  Not one little bit.

My mom and dad took me to dinner for my birthday.  Luckily, my daughter and my “bonus” daughter, both had the day off work and got to celebrate with me!

After some crab legs and two of these…

I don't know what is in it, but it's YUMMY!!
I don’t know what is in it, but it’s YUMMY!!

…I was feeling pretty damn good!!

When we left the restaurant, I asked my mom to take some pics of me and my girls.  I thought it would be a good idea to ask random people walking by, to take pictures with us.  A couple guys did.  I’m sure my girls are the ones that enticed them, but it was fun!

We came home to get my car and head up to my mom’s house to play with her goats and have some birthday cake.  (Yes, you read that right.  Play. With. Her. Goats.)

While home, to get appropriate goat playing clothes, my Twitter notification “dinged” on my phone.

From Chipper Jones: “Happy Bday!!!”

Yep, that shit happened.

Chipper Jones tweeted me.  On my birthday.  Me.  I almost peed myself.

From this point on, it didn’t matter what happened.  My whole entire life had just gotten better.

My daughter drove us to my mom’s house, we sang along to One Direction at the top of our lungs, played with the goats and then I blew out candles on my cake.  Oh and my mother surprised me with Magic Shell.  Magic Fucking Shell.  If you’ve never had this, you are missing out.  It is chocolate that you pour on ice cream and it hardens when it gets cold.  Try it.  It’s the best!

I talked my girls and my mom into accompanying me to karaoke night.  I texted to the KJ to see if Mr. Rocker was there.  He was.

Well, fuck.

Ok, no big deal.  I have my posse with me.  I knew they would have my back.

I was not worried about Mr. Rocker making a scene or hurting me or anything, just didn’t want to see him.  AT ALL.  Not one little bit.  Not on my birthday.  Not at any time.

The fact that my girls and my mom wanted to go with me, made me so happy.

We got there and signed up to sing.  Mr. Rocker tried to get my mom to agree for all of us to sit with him.  My mother knows the story and knows that I would not have wanted that.

So, the four of us found another table.

We laughed and sang and chatted with the other regulars from karaoke.  After not being there for a month, it was nice to see everyone.  At the end of karaoke, a random drunk guy tried to pick up on me.  I don’t know if I was flattered or wanting to throw up.  But either way, it happened.

On the way out, Mr. Rocker stopped me to give me a birthday gift.  I wasn’t sure how to feel about it.  On one hand, it was a birthday gift.  On the other hand, was he just carrying this around, in case I showed up?  Creep.

He bought me a Sacramento Kings Chris Webber jersey.

It was a nice gift.  Thoughtful.

But I can’t help but wonder why he did it.

I have my thoughts on it.  But again, since this is a happy post about my birthday, it will wait for another day.

I was terrified to turn 40.  I was adamant about not celebrating my birthday this year.

My family pushed.  My family knew how important it should be.

My mom told me that when I told her I didn’t want to celebrate, that it broke her heart.  That she never has met anyone in her life, who loved to celebrate their birthday, like I always have.

I’m grateful that my family knows me so well.  I’m grateful that I got to celebrate with the people I love the most.  I’m grateful that my 40th birthday was wonderful, from beginning to end.

And most of all, I’m grateful that Chipper Jones checks his Twitter.  😉

2 thoughts on “Officially Forty

Leave a Reply

