I Only Give One Chance

I suppose that isn’t entirely true.

Over the years, I have given a million chances to some people and let me tell you, they never, ever work out.

I have made the decision, based on past experiences gone wrong, that I am willing to give ONE chance, if the situation allows.  People mess up.  It’s human nature.  If someone messes up and they are genuinely sorry, they deserve a second chance.  I don’t mean for murder or rape or dressing up like a clown.  Obviously, if someone dresses up like a clown, I would NEVER forgive them.

The 29 year old is the latest in people who I wanted to give a second chance.

He screwed me over.

We met on April 1st (April Fool’s Day should have been a clue to me) and we dated and hung out for a few months.  He told me he was not someone who fooled around with multiple people.  He told me that I was the only one he was seeing.  He told me that he really liked me.

I had some yellow and red flags that were popping up, but me being me, chose to push them to the back of my mind and not think about them.

Today is September 16th.  I have seen him exactly one time since June 1st.  ONE TIME.  On my birthday.  He came by for some celebratory birthday sex.  That was July 2nd.  I have not seen him in 10 weeks.

In mid-July, I was stalking looking at his Facebook (we are not ‘friends’ on there) and saw the thing that no girl wants to see when they are dating someone who has stated that they are the only one.

Untitled

In a mother fucking relationship.

Perfect.

The normal thoughts went through my head.

Fuck you, you asshole!

Don’t ever fucking call me again!

Is it me you are in the relationship with?

Well, after a little more investigating, I found out who she was.  Four people liked his relationship status update and one of the girls had a profile pic of them together.  So, using my finely tuned investigative skills, I figured she might be the girlfriend.

I took the above picture and texted it to him.  I decided on one simple word.

CONGRATULATIONS.

Didn’t hear from him.  I texted him the next day, to let him know exactly how I felt.  Didn’t hear from him.

And then I let it go.

Until…

He popped up about 3 weeks after that and started texting me.  Told me I was hateful and blah blah blah.   I was very raw with him, with my emotions.  I told him just exactly how hurtful he was to me and how he made me feel completely unimportant and insignificant. That my feelings clearly didn’t matter to him, because he was able to lie to me, straight to my face.

He apologized.  Repeatedly.  Told me he missed me so much.  That I was the perfect woman.

Then, he said these things to me…

I was drinking with some girlfriends and he said (and I quote) “Have a good time babe. But don’t forget you are taken”  He followed that up with an LOL and “I know we need to talk first”.

He was flying home from Hawaii this weekend and told me that he couldn’t wait to get home and see me.  I asked him why.  He said “Because I want to see you and talk to you.  I want to get this straightened out because I think we could have something really good together.

Oh.  Ok.

Last night, he was supposed to come see me, before I went to karaoke.  I had it planned out in my head, everything I wanted to say to him.

I was however, open to having a discussion and depending on what was said, I thought a second chance may be in order.

Here’s a quick recap of my evening.

4:22pm: He texted me and said he was just leaving (I don’t know where he was) and that traffic was bad, but he would try to get to me before I had to leave for karaoke.

4:23pm: I texted him back and told him that I didn’t have to leave until about 7:15 for karaoke.

4:25pm: Oh ok.  I thought you left at 5:30.

I went home and jumped in the bath and shaved my legs.  Got out, fixed my makeup and curled my hair.  I put on my outfit for karaoke and went out on the balcony to smoke a cigarette and enjoy an Angry Orchard.

5:37pm: Smoking and drinking.

6:07pm: Best friend calls.  I vent, starting to get pissy.

7:08pm: I left my house.  Stopped and bought cigarettes and headed up to karaoke.

8:17pm: He texts me.  This exact message.  “Just got work, had a little trouble sorry honey”

Yep.  Fuck you.

It took him four hours to text me and let me know he wasn’t going to make it.  FOUR mother fucking hours.

I didn’t respond.

I haven’t heard from him since.

I don’t know what “trouble” he had.  Maybe his girlfriend couldn’t tear herself away from him.   Maybe a monkey climbed in his car and beat him silly with a banana.

I don’t know.  I didn’t ask.  It doesn’t really matter to me.

He’s inconsiderate.

He’s rude.

He’s hurtful.

My feelings clearly don’t matter, even at this point.

I was willing to give him one chance to explain.  One chance to make it right.

He missed that chance last night.

Good bye 29 year old!!!

smileyfacewaving-with-bye

9 thoughts on “I Only Give One Chance

    1. I am so tired of the nonsense!! I still haven’t heard from him again, after hearing from him all day / every day, while he was in Hawaii. What an ass!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

