No Title Needed

Google. Facebook. Twitter. Instagram.

Social media. We love it. We follow friends, we follow strangers, we follow celebrities.

We Google directions. We look up songs, movies, actors. We settle fights with our friends. We meet people. We rely on the Internet to keep us informed, to get is where we are going, to find our soulmate. We check sports scores and emails.

It’s wonderful.

Tonight, the Internet told me that another celebrity is in the hospital, fighting for his life.

This post isn’t about the Internet. It isn’t about social media. It isn’t about celebrities. It isn’t about drama.

It’s about addiction.

Lamar Odom, ex-professional NBA player, ex-husband to Khloe Kardashian is fighting for his life.

More importantly, a man, a son, a father, is fighting for his life.

I don’t know Lamar Odom. I know I hated him when he was a Laker. I know he was married to a Kardashian. I know he has more money than I can comprehend.

I also know he fights an addiction.

An addiction that very well might end his life tonight. A mother might have to say goodbye to her son. Children might have to say goodbye to their dad.

My daughter’s father is an addict.

It is very probable that someday, we will have to say goodbye to him.

Addiction is ugly. It hurts everyone surrounded by it and confronted with it. It is not just a problem for the person fighting the addiction.

My prayers go out to Lamar Odom tonight. I hope he survives and wins this battle.

But my prayers go out to everyone battling an addiction. To everyone who is laying in a hospital bed fighting for their life because of an addiction.

It’s real. And it sucks.

Leave a Reply

