Sometimes, It Just Doesn’t Fit

I worked in the same industry, with the same people, doing the same job, for 12 years. The company was sold, over and over, but the job and the people didn’t change.

I loved that job.  Even with the acquisitions, the lay-offs due to company relocation and the several different supervisors I had over the years, I loved it.

I was good at my job.

Really good at it.

On July 29, 2016, I was laid off.  They company was shutting down and moving operations back to the East coast.  We were all laid off.  We were all angry.  We were all scared.

I started my new job on August 8, 2016.

It was not the job of my dreams, even when I interviewed, but I was scared. Unemployment would not be enough to live on.  They offered me the job and I started it. It was a paycheck.  Plain and simple.

I have been here 10 months now.  I can remember how it felt on my first day here, going home and crying, because I knew it wasn’t right.  This company and this job was not for me.

Since I started here, 10 months ago, we have laid off about half the staff.  There have been 8-10 people that have given notice and moved on.  I have never been at a company that had turnover, like this company does.  Firing, laying off, quitting.  It is a rotating door of employees.

Now, in the defense of this company, this may be the norm.  The industry I was in before was so small, that people didn’t leave.  They had special skill sets that caused them to be valuable.  There was little to no turnover.

At this job, I am bored about 90% of the time.  I spend a lot of time re-writing processes, fixing part number descriptions and browsing for interesting stories online.  Thank you to all of you who write blogs, so I have something to do everyday!

In March, they hired a new CFO.  He is my direct supervisor.  I have never worked for someone that I felt so disconnected from.  He has spent no time learning what I do, sitting with me or showing any interest in the supply chain aspect of this company.  He called me negative, to my face, after I showed concern after the latest lay off.

Yesterday, it finally happened.

I finally got the call, I’ve so desperately been waiting on.

I was offered a job, doing what I love, for a stable company with very low turnover.

I’m so happy.  SO FUCKING HAPPY.

Peace out, current job!  This girl is moving on!

3 thoughts on “Sometimes, It Just Doesn’t Fit

Leave a Reply

